Development sites used to be automatically upgraded to a paid plan after 180 days. That time limit has been removed.
A development site now stays on its free development plan indefinitely, until you choose to upgrade it to a production plan yourself. Nothing changes automatically based on how long the site has existed.
See Development plan for what development sites include.